What happens if Colossal Grave-Reaver is on the battlefield and I mill either Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre or Kozilek, Butcher of Truth.
Asked by Be_Jamin 3 weeks ago
If Colossal Grave-Reaver is on the battlefield and I mill either Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre or Kozilek, Butcher of Truth, do the triggers happen at the same time? If so, am I able to order them? I would want to have either Ulamog or Kozilek triggers to happen first and then Grave-Reaver's. That way I can keep the eldrazi in my library rather than the battlefield.
But, if I do have Colossal Grave-Reaver's triggers resolve first then the eldrazi's would the eldrazi trigger happen if they are not in the graveyard?
Interestingly, I'm pretty sure you COULD return them if they got exiled, because the ability doesn't say "return from your graveyard to the battlefield." Colossal Grave-Reaver would still find the card in exile if it ended up there between being milled and the trigger resolving. However, the same isn't true for your library because that's a hidden zone and nothing is letting you search it.
May 12, 2025 11:22 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
@Polaris: When an object changes zones, the game treats it as a new game object with no connection to the previous object minus some exceptions needed to make certain kinds of effects work properly. Colossal Grave-Reaver's effect, itself, doesn't fall into one of the exceptions. If something exiles a milled creature after the Reaver's ability triggers, it can't be chosen to be returned to the battlefield because it's not one of the cards that went from the library to the graveyard anymore.
Polaris says... Accepted answer #1
TL;DR: Yes, you can pick the order. Either way, your graveyard will get shuffled, whether it includes an Eldrazi is up to you.
When effects trigger, they aren't put on the stack immediately (Rule 603.2). They wait until the next time players would receive priority (603.3). Essentially, a triggered ability happens in three stages: First, the game state matches the trigger. Second, when players would get priority, all waiting triggers are put onto the stack. Third, they resolve with the usual process.
In this case, "Whenever one or more creatures are put into your graveyard from your library" and "Whenever *this is put into a graveyard from anywhere" both trigger when Colossal Grave-Reaver mills an Eldrazi titan. Once you finish milling, all waiting triggers are put onto the stack in APNAP (active player, nonactive player) order. Since it's your turn, you'll put your triggers on the stack in any order you like, then other players will add theirs in turn order if they triggered any. At this point you can put Colossal Grave-Reaver's trigger on top if you want to stick an Eldrazi on the battlefield (and why wouldn't you?) or an Eldrazi trigger on top if you want them shuffled away.
When the abilities resolve, you end up with one of the following options:
May 12, 2025 11:20 p.m.