Triggered Abilities & the Stack

Asked by GlimmerKing 5 years ago

Basically my question is: are triggered abilities put onto the stack, and if you remove the source of the ability before it resolves, will it resolve?

I will go ahead and add in the scenario that made me ask this question...

I control an Attrition , Jarad, Golgari Lich Lord , and a Bloodthrone Vampire . My opponent casts a Angel of Serenity . I let the angel resolve and it's triggered ability is put onto the stack. In response I sacrifice a creature with Attrition and destroy the angel before it's ability resolves.

Do the targets still get exiled? Or...?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Once on the stack, an ability exists independently of its source. Removing the source of the ability will not remove the ability from the stack. You need to specifically counter the ability or otherwise remove it from the stack if you want to prevent it from resolving.

In your example case, the targets would still be exiled. They would actually be permanently exiled because the second ability (which is the only way the exiled cards get returned) would trigger and resolve before the first ability resolves. You definitely don't want to do that if your stuff gets targeted.

July 16, 2014 10:29 p.m.

This discussion has been closed