Throne of empires in EDH.
Asked by Chicken 14 years ago
I was thinking of using Throne of Empires in an Arcum Dagsson edh along with its fellow cycle, however, i see it produces white soldiers. Can i still use it?
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2
The rules for color identity also count color words in characteristic defining abilities for the cards (for example, Crimson Kobolds is only legal in a deck with a red-identity commander), but that only applies to the cards themselves, not any tokens or whatever they may create. This is important, because it means living weapons of various kinds can go into any deck (except for Lashwrithe , since it does have colored mana symbols in an ability).
BrightGreenLine says... #1
Yes. The EDH rules for color identity refer to cards that specifically have colored mana symbols in their costs. A card can refer to 'white' or 'plains', as long as it doesn't have a white mana symbol anywhere in the text (or it produces white mana) then it's legal.
Check the Oracle wording on older cards to be sure. Some of them have been updated throughout the years to fit the modern template, and if they don't have any mana symbols on the card then they don't have that color identity.
July 20, 2011 11:10 p.m.