Tapping creatures for mana on opponents turn?
Asked by woll3Y 11 years ago
I recently added Prophet of Kruphix to my green devotion deck. This lets me tap creatures like Karametra's Acolyte and Sylvan Caryatid for mana and untap them on opponent's turn. Am I then allowed to re-tap them for mana during my opponent's turn?
Related question: At what points during my enemy's turn am I allowed to flash in creatures?
hunter9000 says... #3
You can activate a creature's ability any time you could play an instant (unless the ability says otherwise), and you can play cards with flash anytime you could play an instant. If the ability has the tap symbol in it's cost, then you can only activate it if the creature doesn't have summoning sickness. If you play Karametra's Acolyte on your turn, then it still has summoning sickness on your opponent's next turn and you can't use it's ability.
605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it's in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.
January 4, 2014 1:21 p.m.
hunter9000 says... #4
Priority means it's your turn to do something. The active player starts with priority on his/her turn, and then either plays something, or passes priority to the next player. That's how you respond to other people's spells and abilities before they resolve. Here's an article that explains it: http://www.mtgsalvation.com/794-priority-and-the-stack.html
megawurmple says... Accepted answer #1
Yes, so long as you are able to tap them, you can use them to add mana to your mana pool. Note that you cannot tap them for mana on your own turn and then use that mana on the opponent's turn as your mana pool empties as steps and phases end.
You can cast creatures with flash at any time you could cast an instant (ie. whenever you have priority).
January 4, 2014 1:18 p.m.