Switching control and summoning sickness.

Asked by BadumPsh 12 years ago

If a creature enters the battlefield under a player's control, it has summoning sickness. If that creature loses summoning sickness just by being on the field for a few turns, will a change in controller (due to mind control, for example) give it summoning sickness again? Or since it's been in play and just switched control, will it retain its ability to tap and attack? Thanks!

abdulbaqr says... #1

Summoning sickness will take place for any creature that has not been under it's controller's control through one upkeep. So if you Control Magic something, it has summoning sickness until your next upkeep. If before your next upkeep they Disenchant the control magic, it comes back with summoning sickness. that's why things like Mark of Mutiny give the creature haste; so it can punch people before going back to it's controller.

November 12, 2012 10:32 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Upkeeps don't matter for "summoning sickness". The rule is that a creature is "summoning sick" if you haven't controlled it continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn. If a creature changes controllers, then its new controller hasn't controlled it continuously since the beginning of his most recent turn, and he'll have to wait to use it.

November 12, 2012 10:45 p.m.

fireteam says... Accepted answer #3

302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.

Notice the exact wording of "its controller's control." This states that controller must have control of the creature since the beginning of his turn, disregarding the fact whether it was on the battlefield previously under someone else's control.

November 12, 2012 10:45 p.m.

This discussion has been closed