Static abilities and the legend rule

Asked by Colten_Lee 3 years ago

Okay, so my opponent controls Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite and I've enchanted it with Followed Footsteps . I've already gotten one copy, but my question is this. When I get the second will the static ability cause his creatures that are now at 0 toughness to die or does the legend rule override that??

Lurac says... #1

I've meant to ask this too, but I'm pretty sure the static abilities stack momentarily, killing off the opponent's weenies.

I play Crovax, Ascendant Hero EDH, and the question has come up a couple of times.

November 12, 2015 3:55 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

Followed Footsteps's ability resolves, creating a token copy of Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite. Creatures now have -4/-4 as Followed Footsteps's ability is finishing resolving.

State-based actions are then performed. All creatures with toughness 0 or less, calculated counting the two -2/-2 debuffs, die at the same time that one of the Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobites dies to the legend rule (state-based actions are all performed simultaneously).

November 12, 2015 4:39 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

The Legend Rule is one of the game's State Based Actions (SBAs), and so is a creature dying for 0 or less toughness. SBAs are checked and executed simultaneously right before each time a player gets priority. This means the creatures getting their toughness reduced to 0 or less by the total -4/-4 from the two Norns will die at the same time the game makes you process the Legend Rule.

November 12, 2015 4:40 p.m.

Colten_Lee says... #4

Ahh, okay. Didn't realize the legend rule was a sba. Makes sense. Thanks for the answer and sorry for not selection an answer. Things came up.

November 12, 2015 6:33 p.m.

This discussion has been closed