Static abilities and the legend rule
Asked by Colten_Lee 10 years ago
Okay, so my opponent controls Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite and I've enchanted it with Followed Footsteps. I've already gotten one copy, but my question is this. When I get the second will the static ability cause his creatures that are now at 0 toughness to die or does the legend rule override that??
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Followed Footsteps's ability resolves, creating a token copy of Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite. Creatures now have -4/-4 as Followed Footsteps's ability is finishing resolving.
State-based actions are then performed. All creatures with toughness 0 or less, calculated counting the two -2/-2 debuffs, die at the same time that one of the Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobites dies to the legend rule (state-based actions are all performed simultaneously).
November 12, 2015 4:39 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
The Legend Rule is one of the game's State Based Actions (SBAs), and so is a creature dying for 0 or less toughness. SBAs are checked and executed simultaneously right before each time a player gets priority. This means the creatures getting their toughness reduced to 0 or less by the total -4/-4 from the two Norns will die at the same time the game makes you process the Legend Rule.
November 12, 2015 4:40 p.m.
Colten_Lee says... #4
Ahh, okay. Didn't realize the legend rule was a sba. Makes sense. Thanks for the answer and sorry for not selection an answer. Things came up.
Lurac says... #1
I've meant to ask this too, but I'm pretty sure the static abilities stack momentarily, killing off the opponent's weenies.
I play Crovax, Ascendant Hero EDH, and the question has come up a couple of times.
November 12, 2015 3:55 p.m.