Stacking Epic

Asked by Trockenmatt 6 years ago

Let's say I have Leyline of Anticipation out, and I play Eternal Dominion . In response to that, I play Neverending Torment . First off, can I do that? Epic says, "You can't play spells for the rest of the game." Does this include when it's on the stack? If it doesn't, then can I play both during my upkeep?

chriscollins91 says... #1

You cannot respond with Neverending Torment on top of Eternal Dominion, if you played Eternal Dominion first, because of its Epic you can't even flash Neverending Torment because it would be after you played Eternal Dominion. So you can't even stack anything on top of Eternal Dominion

May 31, 2015 2:13 p.m.

BlueScope says... #2

Epic doesn't actually prevent you from casting any spells for the rest of the game until the spell that has the keyword resolves (just like you don't search any libraries before the spell resolves). So, in response to casting Eternal Dominion, you can indeed cast another spell, in this case ending up with two epic copies at the beginning of your upkeep.

In the same way, you can Reverberate a spell with Epic and get two triggers at the beginning of each upkeep.

May 31, 2015 2:36 p.m.

Trockenmatt says... #3

Okay, I'm getting mixed signals. I'll wait until some more people comment.

May 31, 2015 3:06 p.m.

acbooster says... Accepted answer #4

BlueScope is correct. Here's the relevant ruling:

702.49b A player cant cast spells once a spell with epic he or she controls resolves, but effects (such as the epic ability itself) can still put copies of spells onto the stack.

The keyword here is resolves, you can still cast spells while it's on the stack.

May 31, 2015 3:21 p.m.

Trockenmatt says... #5

acbooster, thank you very much for clearing this up. This possibly means that I get all 5 Epic spells on the stack at once XD!

May 31, 2015 4:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed