Spreading Seas question.

Asked by gpmoon22 13 years ago

If I have a land that has a special ability on top of providing mana if someone casts Spreading Seas on it does it lose it's ability or does it just become an Island AND have it's ability?

mozerdozer says... #1

The land is an Island, not an Island in addition to it's other type. An Island is a land with no other abilities except "Tap: Add (U) to your mana pool".

Compare it to Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth which says "in addition to its other types".

In short, it will have no abilities besides "Tap: Add U to your mana pool.

August 30, 2011 8:48 p.m.

xo2 says... #2

Spreading Seas makes the land become an island. Not in ADDITION to it's other types. It's just an island and taps for a blue mana.

August 30, 2011 8:49 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

From the Oracle ruling for Spreading Seas :

10/1/2009: The enchanted land loses its existing land types and any abilities printed on it. It now has the land type Island and has the ability to tap to add U to its controller's mana pool. Spreading Seas doesn't change the enchanted land's name or whether it's legendary, basic, or snow.

The land is only an Island. It does not have any abilities other than "T: Add U to your mana pool."

August 30, 2011 8:50 p.m.

Gamer7129 says... #4

This is why every blue deck runs 4 to fight Valakut, the Molten Pinnacle

August 31, 2011 11:26 a.m.

if only everyone look up the oracle before posting a question

September 1, 2011 6:56 a.m.

Windgod14 says... #6

10/1/2009: The enchanted land loses its existing land types and any abilities printed on it. It now has the land type Island and has the ability to tap to add U to its controller's mana pool. Spreading Seas doesn't change the enchanted land's name or whether it's legendary, basic, or snow.

This is backed by the cards wording. "Enchanted land IS an island."

September 1, 2011 10:34 a.m.

This discussion has been closed