Sphinx's Tutelage order of events?

Asked by Aricardo 7 years ago

Ok so my friend used 2 combo's of Sphinx's Tutelage & Jace Beleren / Sphinx's Tutelage & Jace's Archivist during a 2 Vs 2 duel.Their was an argument over what happened in what order. So Can anyone help?

3 of us say that when Sphinx's Tutelage & Jace Beleren happens we each draw a card THEN Sphinx's Tutelage activates. He says he draws and Sphinx's Tutelage activates before anyone else draws.

For the Sphinx's Tutelage & Jace's Archivist combination we were a bit more devided, over different things.

  1. do we all draw before Sphinx's Tutelage ativates, or draw 1 card at a time and Sphinx's Tutelage activates each card. e.g. draw 1 discard 2 opponent draw 1 discard 2 opponent etc. (which i disagree with).

  2. Can the player who owns Sphinx's Tutelage split the discard target's between the 2 opponents? e.g. 5 drawn opponent A discard 4 opponent B discard 6, or does it have to be the same target?

Any help here to end this argument would be appreciated.

tpmains says... #1

To answer your first question simply, all players would draw first then you would mill. When a spell or ability resolves, all of it resolves before anything else can happen. No one can react to or respond to an ability as it's happening.

As for the second question, you can change the target of the ability if multiple cards are drawn. Each instance of drawing a card would put the ability of the tutelage on the stack. When that happens, it asks who the target of the ability will be. You have to choose an opponent or the ability fizzles. You or your opponent have the chance to respond to each trigger before it resolves.

January 14, 2018 10:23 a.m.

The posters above are correct, and yes he can split the mill to either player. It would be silly to do so tho, he should probably just mill one player out quickly.

January 14, 2018 10:31 a.m.

Chandrian says... #3

Hello,

I believe this kind of question is better posted in the Rules Q&A place of this site.

For the first situation: when Jace Beleren's ability resolves ALL players draw a card, when the ability resolves it resolves as a whole. After this Sphinx's Tutelage will resolve.

For the second situation: for the drawing cards part, the situation is the same as with Jace Beleren, you apply the whole effect = everyone draws their cards at the same time, before the effect of tutale goes on the stack.

The player who owns the tutelage can then, for each cards he/she has drawn, target an opponent to mill. It doesn't have to be the same opponent.

January 14, 2018 11:18 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #4

All players draw their cards first, then you deal with the triggers from Sphinx's Tutelage. Each one of those triggers is distinct from any others, and they can target different players.

If a triggered ability (an ability that starts with "when/whenever/at") triggers during the resolution of another spell or ability, it doesn't get put onto the stack until that other spell/ability is totally finished resolving. If your opponent activates Jace Beleren's +2 ability, everyone draws a card before the Tutelage trigger is put onto the stack. If your opponent activates Jace's Archivist, everyone draws their full set of X cards before the X Tutelage triggers are put onto the stack.

January 15, 2018 12:46 a.m.

Aricardo says... #5

Thanks for clearing that up.

January 16, 2018 7:01 p.m.

Please login to comment