Spellskite and mindslaver

Asked by Thombus123 13 years ago

If i Mindslaver An opponent and they have a Spellskite out if i cast a spell that has Spellskite as a legal target can i keep using its ability to redirect the spell to it until i can no longer pay (aka when they are on 0 life)

Arachnarchist says... #1

Perhaps. You can only pay 2 life if you have at least 2 life. Hence, if they had an even life total, you could use the ability until they are at zero. However, if their life total was an odd number, you would necessarily have to leave them at one and do that last damage some other way.

November 16, 2011 2:27 p.m.

RiotMaker says... #2

No. It is not a player.

You can do this with Immolating Souleater though.

November 16, 2011 2:29 p.m.

Spoofed says... Accepted answer #3

Yes you can repeatedly change the target from Spellskite to itself. In fact Spellskite doesn't need to be a legal target for the spell.

You can activate Spellskite's ability even if Spellskite wouldn't be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.

November 16, 2011 2:31 p.m.

Arachnarchist says... #4

RiotMaker, he's not saying redirecting the Mindslaver to the Spellskite . He's already mind-controlled the player and wants to use their spellskite to kill them.

November 16, 2011 2:35 p.m.

RiotMaker says... #5

I believe he can only do it once, then. It has to have a spell to copy. Once it is copied, it can't redirect it again. (I'm pretty sure.)

November 16, 2011 2:52 p.m.

Arachnarchist says... #6

I know he can respond to each trigger with another activation, and then repeat.

November 16, 2011 3:04 p.m.

mozerdozer says... #7

In order to kill them they would have to be at an even amount of life. Jus' saying.

November 16, 2011 3:48 p.m.

bcurran says... #8

@RiotMaker you can still Spellskite the Mindlaver ability, even though it's not a legal target. The ability will have no effect, but it can still be activated. You can even use Spellskite on a spell like Timely Reinforcements that has no targets at all. And you can use it as many times as you want.

Swerve is different because it specifies that the targetted spell must have exactly one target. But Spellskite has no such restrictions.

Everyone who says that they must have an even amount of life is right. If they have an odd number, then they can keep paying 2 until they have only 1, and then they can't pay more than they have.

November 17, 2011 12:03 a.m.

tedyo says... #9

but you can kill using mana burn right?

April 20, 2012 2:20 p.m.

bcurran says... #10

Mana burn was removed from the rules nearly three years ago. And even when mana burn was still a part of the game, MindslaverMTG Card: Mindslaver prevented it (look at the reminder text of the original printing).

April 20, 2012 2:37 p.m.

This discussion has been closed