Spellskite and condemn

Asked by doctorsmegma 7 years ago

So if I declare an attack with a Blighted Agent with a Spellskite in play and my opponent casts Condemn in response to my declare attackers, can I use Spellskite ability? Or will I not be able to use spellskites ability since I didn't attack with him?

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1

Check Gatherer for rulings on Spellskite to answer your question.

6/1/2011 You can activate Spellskite's ability even if Spellskite wouldn't be a legal target for the spell or ability. However, the target of that spell or ability will remain unchanged.

Since Spellskite isn't an attacking creature, it's not a legal target for Condemn. You can activate the ability all you want but the target will remain to be Blighted Agent.

February 6, 2016 7:21 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #2

You can always activate Spellskite's ability targeting any spell or ability. However, Spellskite's ability can only change a target if Spellskite would be a legal target for that spell or ability. If Spellskite isn't attacking, it isn't a legal target for Condemn.

February 6, 2016 7:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed