Soulbond

Asked by moz.the.blessed 13 years ago

The conditions

  1. I have bird-of-paradise on the battlefield
  2. I cast Wolfir SilverheartMTG Card: Wolfir Silverheart successfully
  3. I pair Wolfir SilverheartMTG Card: Wolfir Silverheart with the bird-of-paradise
  4. I cast another bird-of-paradise
the question is, during step number 4, can i pair the Wolfir SilverheartMTG Card: Wolfir Silverheart with the new bird-of-paradise?

in the beginning, i'm sure that's possible. but my local game also told me it's not possible. That opinion stay convincing until i find a cockatrice player who say it can.

i say it can't, because the soulbond desc (.....they remain paired......)

so, is it possible or not? i don't find the ruling either in gatherer.wizard.com or magiccards.info.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Soulbond pairs unpaired creatures, as indicated by the reminder text of the mechanic. Once a creature has been soulbonded, it may not soulbond with another creature again until the creature it is currently paired with leaves the battlefield.

In this case, your Wolfir SilverheartMTG Card: Wolfir Silverheart is paired to the first Birds of ParadiseMTG Card: Birds of Paradise. Until that first Birds dies, your Silverheart may not pair with any other creatures.

May 4, 2012 2:17 a.m.

Ohthenoises says... #2

The important part to look at when you read the reminder text is this: "As this creature enters the battlefield you may pair it with ANOTHER unpaired creature you control." The use of the word another indicates that both creatures much be unpaired at the time of bonding.

May 4, 2012 2:12 p.m.

CrushU says... #3

Epochalyptik is right with one addendum: The creature doesn't need to leave the battlefield. If it leaves your control, the pairing also breaks. (For example, your opponent plays Zealous ConscriptsMTG Card: Zealous Conscripts to take your Wolfir SilverheartMTG Card: Wolfir Silverheart, the bond will break and NOT come back when it returns to your control.)

May 4, 2012 7:11 p.m.

BrokenZygoma says... #4

The only way to re-bond a card is to blink it, or bounce it and replay it, which is common on quite a few cards in Avacyn.

May 4, 2012 8:52 p.m.

shift says... #5

It doesn't say creature u control does it? I paired with my opponents at prerelease

May 5, 2012 1:46 a.m.

shift says... #6

It hilarious to give a creature theyve had for 2 turns haste just give my soulbond creature haste

May 5, 2012 1:47 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

You can soulbond to a creature you don't control, but both creatures will immediately lose the bond because you don't control both of them (look at the last line in soulbond's reminder text).

May 5, 2012 2:03 a.m.

shift says... #8

Mmm I see that now thnks

May 8, 2012 1:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed