Snap an overload?

Asked by evil_monkey 12 years ago

Say I play Snapcaster Mage targeting Cyclonic Rift in my graveyard. Would I be able to flash it back for it's overload cost?

Arachnarchist says... Accepted answer #1

No. Flashback is an alternative cost (albeit one that can only be played from a graveyard), as is overload. Two alternative costs cannot be used for the same spell.

November 8, 2012 10:22 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Arachnarchist is right. Also, think about it this way: paying a Flashback cost is what allows you to cast the spell from the graveyard, not paying an Overload cost. The Flashback cost is the only thing that would allow you to play the card in this specific situation.

If you were using Toshiro Umezawa to make spells in your graveyard playable, then you would be allowed to Overload. His ability doesn't impose any alternative costs of its own, so you're free to choose what cost to pay when you cast the spell. Note that "without paying its mana cost" is a type of alternative cost, so an effect like Sins of the Past would not allow you to Overload.

November 8, 2012 10:40 a.m.

Johnnathan says... #3

If Cyclonic Rift is in your graveyard and you want to cast it for it's overload cost and use its overload effect...then do so. Otherwise, yes you can use Snapcaster Mage to target it from your graveyard and pay 1U to flashback it from your graveyard.

November 8, 2012 12:33 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@Johnnathan: What?

November 8, 2012 2:23 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #5

@Johnnathan: If a card is in your graveyard, you can't just cast it, overload or otherwise. You need effects that allow you to cast spells from your graveyard in order to do that.

November 8, 2012 2:59 p.m.

Johnnathan says... #6

I totally answered that wrong, replace "is in your graveyard" with "is in your hand".

I'm pretty sure that was after my dayquil, apologies...carry on gentlemen.

November 9, 2012 6:27 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #7

Heh, that makes more sense.

I figured some sort of large-scale typo or brain fart was up. That's sort of over the top for a misunderstanding of the rules, haha.

November 10, 2012 3:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed