Simple question about exile

Asked by flagg777 9 years ago

If I have an ability that reads something like "exile creature and return the creature at the end of your turn"; If I attack with another creature card and that creature has enough damage that it will go to the graveyard can I exile it? then return it?

Fast save? is this legal?

I also assume all enchants fall off and go to grave BUT attached artifacts stay - I think I am right on that.

Thanks for the help

Rhadamanthus says... #1

It's better to use actual cards as examples so everyone is clear on what's going on. Let's choose a fairly simple one: Otherworldly Journey

If a creature in combat leaves the battlefield then it also leaves combat. It can't deal or be dealt combat damage. You can use Otherworldly Journey to save one of your creatures.

Any attached auras or equipment will un-attach, and auras will be sent to the graveyard while equipment will remain on the battlefield.

March 31, 2016 3:45 p.m.

flagg777 says... #2

Sorry that was my first post

If I have Venser, the Sojourner;I attack, damage is dealt, both creatures are reduced to 0 thus both will go to the graveyard.

I snap in and exile the creature thus it never goes to grave yard. My opponent does not have an instant to "save" his creature. His creature goes to the graveyard My creature (with 0 toughness) is exiled.

At the end of my turn I return the creature from exile to the battlefield. All enchants are removed, all damage is removed, it's a sunny day.

Does this help?

March 31, 2016 4:04 p.m.

Denial048 says... #3

You wont be able to do that. If creatures are dealt enough damage that there is more damage marked on them than their toughness, they die as a state based action, before you can respond.

What you are proposing requires the creature remaining on the field during phase changes to get back to your Main Phase 2 to be able to activate Vensers ability

March 31, 2016 4:15 p.m.

DJSeras says... #4

If you were playing with an older ruleset of the game then there may technically be a way to do what you propose. This was during a time where damage went on the stack similar to abilities or spells, but thay have since discontinued that and made all damage happen simultaneously. It also happens in a manner where players cannot respond or perform actions because there is no round of priority between when the creatures are damaged and when they would go to the graveyard

March 31, 2016 4:32 p.m.

flagg777 says... #5

wow

I am returning to the game (I did notice my cards values went up in value :) )

back then if we had a creature with combat damage you could play an instant to save it. Sounds like you need to play the instant before you push your creatures to attack (i.e. instant that give target creature +1 +1). With the new rules if my attacking creature was -1 and I threw that instant it would not pump the creature saving it.

Holy crap on a cracker the cards have got complex since the 80s

Many thanks

Flagg

March 31, 2016 4:43 p.m.

nobu_the_bard says... #6

There is a round of priority after damage is dealt, but states will have been checked already, so it's too late to save your creatures by then.

There's a way to kind-of do what you want if the creature has first/double strike. If you attack with Tundra Wolves and are blocked by Grizzly Bears, you can whisk them out of combat after they deal first strike damage with something like Otherworldly Journey, before they get hit by the slow bears.

EDIT: Typically to save the creature, you cast the spell like Otherworldly Journey after blockers are declared.

March 31, 2016 4:44 p.m. Edited.

DJSeras says... Accepted answer #7

Something that may help you can be found Here. It's an explanation of the current stack and how it functions

March 31, 2016 5:27 p.m.

This discussion has been closed