Ruling on Desecration Demon with Setessan Tactics

Asked by EDWhiteWeenie 11 years ago

When I enter my combat step, and my opponent chooses to sacrifice a creature. Can I in response to my Desecration Demon tapping, play Setessan Tactics and fight another one of his creatures so I essentially 2 for 1 my opponent and then add a counter to my Demon afterwords? Or does it not work like that?

kmcree says... #1

Rules questions belong in the Q&A. There's a tab at the top of the page. Epochalyptik can move it to the orphanage.

May 12, 2014 2 a.m.

MollyMab says... #2

Answer no. Once the ability activates it has to resolve fully.

May 12, 2014 2:04 a.m.

CrazyLittleGuy says... #3

I don't think so. Desecration Demon 's sac ability is only one trigger, so you can't cast anything in the middle of it's resolution. If they sac, you can't tap Demon in response. He'll become tapped and get his +1/+1 counter before priority goes around again.

May 12, 2014 2:05 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4

Rules questions should be asked in the Q&A.

To answer your question, though, no. Players don't have priority while a spell or ability is resolving, and you won't know whether your opponent will sacrifice a creature until Desecration Demon 's ability is mid-resolution. At that point, you cannot cast Setessan Tactics or activate the ability Setessan Tactics grants to your creatures.

Your last chance to activate the conferred ability would be before Desecration Demon 's triggered ability begins to resolve. However, activating the ability at that time would mean Desecration Demon is tapped while its own ability resolves, so your opponent probably wouldn't choose to sacrifice a creature anyway.

May 12, 2014 2:08 a.m.

This discussion has been closed