Rules for daybound

Asked by Wendithewendigo 3 years ago

How does daybound and nightbound affect former transforming cards? The symbols in the top left corner are the same (in some cases) and there's no text on daybound cards that tells them to transform, but they do. And do things like Immerwolf still work on them? And do they automatically transform back if something other than day becoming night transforms the back (does Moonmist work on them)

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

In the future, please use the Rules Q&A section of the website when you have questions on cards, rules, or card interactions. I have moved the thread for you.


How does Daybound/Nightbound affect former transforming cards?

It does not. Those cards do not have the Daybound/Nightbound keyword, so the day/night status has no effect on those cards. The symbols in the corner is not relevant to their ability. They still function as they always did.

And do they automatically transform back if something other than day becoming night transforms the back (does Moonmist work on them)

Moonmist does not work on them. Per rule 702.145(b): "This permanent can’t be transformed except by its daybound ability.”

By definition of the rule, they cannot be transformed except by the Day/Night cycle.

And do things like Immerwolf still work on them?

Yes, Immerwolf will still work. Rule 702.145(b) only prohibits manners in which they CAN transform; nothing in that rule or any other rule prohibits effects that say the creature CAN'T transform. As such, "can't transform" effects will still function.

September 29, 2021 10:51 a.m.

Oh, sorry, I didn't see that, and thank you.

September 29, 2021 11:21 a.m.

Please login to comment