Rubinia Soulsinger Untapping

Asked by CletusTraitorOfGhet 4 years ago

I have a question regarding untapping Rubinia Soulsinger . In a recent multiplayer game, Opponent A played Mob Rule and took control of all creatures with power greater than 4. During the attack step I tapped Soulsinger to gain control of a creature that was taken from Opponent B using Mob Rule . Would untapping Soulsinger with Thousand-Year Elixir result in the creature returning to Opponent A or Opponent B who is the owner of the card?

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Assuming it's still Opponent A's turn control would be returned to Opponent A, as Mob Rule's effect is still in play. If the turn has been passed, untapping Rubinia Soulsinger will return control to Opponent B. This is because the creature in question has two control changing effects applied to it (both are in layer 2). The way it works is the effects are applied in timestamp order, so control is given to Opponent A, then to you, effectively giving you control. Soulsinger stops applying, only the one effect applies, making timestamp order irrelevant.

December 4, 2016 8:30 p.m.

This discussion has been closed