Ray of Command + Legerdemain combo?

Asked by benosmash 12 years ago

Lets say Ray of Command was just played on Creature A ( Goblin Spy for the sake of this question) and the player then successfully cast Legerdemain , targeting the goblin and Creature B ( White Knight for the sake of this question). Is this a legal play, and if so how would it resolve?

KrazyCaley says... Accepted answer #1

Legerdemain exchanges control, so I'm assuming that your opponent originally controls both the spy and the knight.

This play is legal. What happens:

1 - You Ray of Command the Spy. It gains haste until end of turn.

2 - You Legerdemain targeting the Spy and the Goblin. You gain control of the knight and your opponent gains control of the Spy.

3 - As a result of 2, Ray of Command 's trigger occurs and Goblin Spy , now back under your opponent's control, is tapped. It will lose haste at the end of the turn still.

4 - Final result: You have permanent control of White Knight , your opponent has a haste-until-end-of-turn, but tapped, Goblin Spy

June 21, 2013 8:47 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

The creatures involved are legal targets for Legerdemain , so it's a legal play. What happens depends on who controls White Knight , which isn't clear from your question.

If the same player currently controls Goblin Spy and White Knight , then the Spy will still return to its previous controller when Ray of Command wears off. Exchanging control of two things controlled by the same player means nothing happens.

If different players currently control the Spy and Knight, then control of them will be exchanged. They'll stay that way when Ray of Command wears off, because Legerdemain 's control-changing effect still applies.

Both results come from the following rule:
701.8b When control of two permanents is exchanged, if those permanents are controlled by different players, each of those players simultaneously gains control of the permanent that was controlled by the other player. If, on the other hand, those permanents are controlled by the same player, the exchange effect does nothing.

June 21, 2013 8:47 p.m.

KrazyCaley says... #3

Oh, and don't forget that whoever controls Goblin Spy has to turn the top card of their library up for as long as they have the Spy.

June 21, 2013 8:48 p.m.

This discussion has been closed