Question about tuk tuk

Asked by TheGamer 11 years ago

If you have a Tuk-Tuk the Explorer out and play another one! I understand one of the two would die. But when you get the Tuk-Tuk the Returned would that count as a second tuk tuk and you would have to sacrifice the not 5/5 tuk tuk?

I now this question is confusing but please try your best to answer it!

TheGamer says... #1

Sorry, I would have linked Tuk Tuk but honestly have no idea how to spell/word Tuk Tuk.

November 19, 2013 8:03 a.m.

Absinthman says... #2

What is commonly known as the "legendary rule" only functions for permanents with exactly the same names. In your case, one of your permanents is Tuktuk the Explorer , the other is Tuktuk the Returned. As their names are not exactly the same, the legendary rule will not care about them. The difference comes when planeswalkers are in question. The planeswalker rule doesn't check the name, but the type of the planeswalkers. That's why it works for different versions of Jace for example.

November 19, 2013 8:10 a.m.

twospires says... Accepted answer #3

Tuktuk the Explorer . Just mash it all together.

As far as the question goes, under the old legendary rules, you would be right and both Tuktuk the Returned tokens woulds die. But the new legendary rules are different.

Quick rundown: When you put another copy of a legendary permanent onto the battlefield, if there is already one on your side of the battlefield, you have to choose one of the two to sacrifice. So now you would sacrifice ONE Tuktuk the Explorer and get one Tuktuk the Returned token. They have different names, so you can keep both of those.

Does this help?

November 19, 2013 8:10 a.m.

TheGamer says... #4

You both answered my question! Thanks

November 19, 2013 8:12 a.m.

twospires says... #5

This is also the rule that lets you keep both a Niv-Mizzet, the Firemind and Niv-Mizzet, Dracogenius or Borborygmos and Borborygmos Enraged . The game only cares if they have exactly the same name.

November 19, 2013 9:34 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

Note that the legend rule does NOT cause you to sacrifice anything. The chosen permanents are simply put into their owner's graveyard.

November 19, 2013 10:34 a.m.

twospires says... #7

Huh. Didn't know about that specific case. Thanks. You learn something new every day.

November 19, 2013 11:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed