Protection and dual-color DFC interaction.

Asked by Panzerforge 2 years ago

Scenario 1:
My opponent has Akroma's Memorial in play, giving her creatures protection from red and black. I attack with Archangel Avacyn  Flip (not transformed into Avacyn, the Purifier ), and she is blocking with an Ornithopter .

Does the pro-red from Memorial have any effect whatsoever on the white side Archangel Avacyn  Flip, or has the "color identity" aspect of EDH just caused us to have a very confused perspective of double faced card colors?

Scenario 2:
Archangel Avacyn  Flip transforms into Avacyn, the Purifier , dealing 3 damage to each creature and each opponent, and my opponent has Circle of Protection: White .

Same kind of question, does the CoP:W have any effect whatsoever on damage inflicted by Avacyn, the Purifier 's red side?

Thank you for your help!

GearNoir says... Accepted answer #1

Scenario 1 - Akroma's Memorial would not protect Ornithopter from Archangel Avacyn  Flip because Avacyn is .

Scenario 2 - Circle of Protection: White would not protect your opponent from Avacyn, the Purifier  Flip as it is transformed and is when the damage is dealt.

Color identity, which is what I beleive you are thinking about, is only really applicable in Commander/EDH to determine if a card can go into the deck; it has to account for both sides of the transform card in case of varied colors.

Double-faced Card Rules:

  • 711.4. Each face of a double-faced card has its own set of characteristics.

  • 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.

  • 711.4b While a double-faced permanents back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. However, its converted mana cost is calculated using the mana cost of its front face. This is a change from previous rules. If a permanent is copying the back face of a double-faced card (even if the card representing that copy is itself a double-faced card), the converted mana cost of that permanent is 0.

March 27, 2017 1:15 a.m.

Panzerforge says... #2

It was as I thought, GearNoir, and I think I can consider the discussion resolved now.

And yes, Color Identity in EDH is what sparked the argument.

March 27, 2017 4:42 a.m.

Please login to comment