Phyrexian Obliterator Effect Help

Asked by Alekay 7 years ago

I just have a question about the recently reprinted Phyrexian Obliterator (M25).If a 7/7 swung, and you blocked with the Phyrexian Obliterator (5/5), would the attacking oppoonent be forced to sacrifice 7 permanents, or 5 permanents?

Bulldawg1310 says... #2

7, its dealing seven damage during combat, therefore attacking player sacs 7 permanents!

March 29, 2018 10:19 p.m.

legendofa says... Accepted answer #3

The 7/7 is dealing 7 damage to the Phyrexian Obliterator, so seven permanents would be sacrificed. The exception would be if the 7/7 had trample, where it would deal the equivalent of lethal damage, in this case 5. The Obliterator takes 5 damage, and five permanents would be sacrificed.

As a heads-up, the Rules Q&A forum is where you want to post this sort of rules and interactions question.

March 29, 2018 10:25 p.m.

Neotrup says... #4

If it has deathtouch trample you'll be really sad, they'll sacrifice one thing and you'll still take 6 damage.

March 29, 2018 11:57 p.m.

Alekay says... #5

Thanks!

March 30, 2018 10:52 a.m.

Please login to comment