Mystic Reflection Interaction With Mutating

Asked by -TheContagion- 1 month ago

casual/tabletop environment:

my opponent has a creature out, during their upkeep I cast Mystic Reflection , targeting my own Ruin Crab . if my opponent casts a mutate spell on their turn, does the entire mutated creature become a copy of my Ruin Crab or is it only the creature they are casting for its mutate cost that becomes the copy?

thank you in advance!

Polaris says... Accepted answer #1

Neither scenario happens (mutation becoming a copy or whole creature becoming a copy). The reason is that a creature card cast as a mutation doesn't "enter the battlefield." The card does go from the stack to the battlefield, but it becomes part of a permanent that was already in play,so enters-the-battlefield effects won't trigger.

February 26, 2021 10:14 a.m.

-TheContagion- says... #2

good to know, thank you for the quick answer.

February 26, 2021 10:15 a.m.

Polaris says... #3

As the person who asked the question, you can mark an answer as accepted. This moves your post from the Unanswered Q&A list and keeps things tidy. Have a nice day!

February 26, 2021 10:25 a.m.

Please login to comment