Myr Welder and equipment.

Asked by theemptyquiver 14 years ago

If Myr welder is in play, and there is equipment in the graveyard like a Livewire Lash and the welder imprints it and exiles it from play.

The Myr Welder gains the ability of the equipment, but can it be equipped?

It would have the ability to become equipped, but the rules are that a creature cannot attach to a creature...

So is this a simple case of can versus can't?

Does someone have the ruling on this?

sporkife says... #1

An equipment that's a creature cannot equip a creature, full stop.

March 2, 2011 5:44 p.m.

Tezz says... Accepted answer #2

You can make the Myr Welder gain the activated abilities of an artifact but actually can't equip it to another creature since creatures can't equip creatures.

Here's the ruling

301.5c An Equipment that's also a creature can't equip a creature. An Equipment that loses the subtype "Equipment" can't equip a creature. An Equipment can't equip itself. An Equipment that equips an illegal or nonexistent permanent becomes unattached from that permanent but remains on the battlefield. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

March 2, 2011 5:46 p.m.

theemptyquiver says... #3

Just to be clear...in this case the Myr welder was never labeled as "equipment" it simply gained an activated ability...which is why I wanted clarification.

I believe Tezz, and Spork to be correct I just wanted to be clear that there is no loophole in this ruling because of the nature of the imprinted ability.

The rule only states that a equipment that is ALSO a creature, or equipment that loses the subtype cannot equip to a creature.

It doesn't say a creature that gains the ability cannot.

Is there more to that rule text? Or am I making much to do about nothing?

March 2, 2011 6:40 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #4

Dug around, found it in the state-based actions section.

704.5q If a creature is attached to an object or player, it becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield. Similarly, if a permanent that's neither an Aura, an Equipment, nor a Fortification is attached to an object or player, it becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield.

March 2, 2011 7:18 p.m.

theemptyquiver says... #5

@MagnorCriol thanks for that additional ruling. That clears up the rest of the debate on that. (although interestingly it does have the ability to attach for a brief moment...)

So it isn't really so much a no, as it is an, it is not able to stay on.

March 2, 2011 11:23 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #6

Technically yes, but because it's removed by state-based actions, you never get the chance to utilize it. SBAs are checked before you can put something on the stack; it's the same reason you can't interact with token cards for the instant they're in the graveyard.

You can't, for instance, equip the Welder to a Goblin Gaveleer , then use the boosted power to influence a card:Soul's Fire or Wing Puncture .

If you had some sort of triggered ability that read "Whenever a creature you control becomes equipped..." then you'd be able to trigger that ability, I suppose. But as far as I know there's no such ability printed...yet.

March 2, 2011 11:56 p.m.

This discussion has been closed