Morbid stack

Asked by cooknathan 13 years ago

1 I start my turn2 I play Genisis Wave3 genesis wave resolves and with it I get out a Hollowhenge Scavenger (no creatures have died at this point)

Can I then add Hollowhenge Scavenger's ability to the stack and then kill a creature such that by the time the morbid ability resolves a creature has died?

Say I genesis wave into both a Hollowhenge Scavenger and a Llanowar Elves and I choose to put the Llanowar Elves into the graveyard and Hollowhenge Scavenger onto the battlefield, will the morbid ability work?

What if I Genesis Wave into a Hollowhenge Scavenger and an Acidic Slime , destroy an artifact creature with acidic slime and then activate Hollowhenge Scavenger's ability?

BrightGreenLine says... Accepted answer #1

No, you may not. By the time Genesis Wave starts resolving, it's too late to do anything else until it has completed resolving. Once you reveal any cards with it, it's too late to activate abilities or cast spells.

When Hollowhenge Scavenger is put onto the battlefield from Genesis Wave's resolution, nothing will have died yet. Thus, its "When Hollowhenge Scavenger enters the battlefield, if a creature died this turn" doesn't trigger. If you kill a creature after the Scavenger enters the battlefield from the wave it will be too late.

With your Scavenger and Llanowar Elves combo, it won't work either. Dies means for a creature to go to the graveyard from the battlefield, and the elves will be going from your library to the battlefield.

Scavenger and Acidic Slime won't work either. As with the original answer, both the Slime and Scavenger will trigger at the same time when they enter the battlefield. Since nothing has died yet, Scavenger's trigger will not actually occur.

603.4. A triggered ability may read "When/Whenever/At [trigger event], if [condition], [effect]." When the trigger event occurs, the ability checks whether the stated condition is true. The ability triggers only if it is; otherwise it does nothing. If the ability triggers, it checks the stated condition again as it resolves. If the condition isn't true at that time, the ability is removed from the stack and does nothing. Note that this mirrors the check for legal targets. This rule is referred to as the "intervening 'if' clause" rule. (The word "if" has only its normal English meaning anywhere else in the text of a card; this rule only applies to an "if" that immediately follows a trigger condition.)

September 21, 2011 7:36 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

BrightGreenLine is right. In his explanation of why your Llanowar Elves example doesn't work, he meant to type "going from your library to your graveyard". That's why it doesn't count as dying for the purposes of Morbid.

September 21, 2011 10:07 a.m.

Yes, good call on the Elves there. I was still working on my morning coffee, and that's the excuse I'm sticking with.

September 21, 2011 6:07 p.m.

cooknathan says... #4

Thanks guys

September 21, 2011 9:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed