Mirrari + Inner Fire
Asked by AzureOctive 11 years ago
Can Mirari use the inner fire mana to fuel more copies of inner fire? Mana abilities are usually pretty fast...
Epochalyptik says... #2
Please link all cards in your question.
Mirari
Inner Fire
There are no mana abilities here. A mana ability is an ability, activated or triggered, that doesn't have any targets, isn't a loyalty ability, and adds mana to a player's mana pool on resolution. If it's a triggered ability, it must trigger from another mana ability.
Mirari has a triggered ability. When you cast Inner Fire , Mirari 's ability will trigger and go onto the stack above Inner Fire . You'll need to pay the cost before you can copy the spell.
Note also that Mirari 's ability only copies the spell. It doesn't cause you to cast anything, so the copy won't trigger Mirari 's ability.
April 14, 2014 9:27 p.m.
AzureOctive says... #3
I see... so there's no infinate combo with Reiterate either then because all the effects on the stack have to resolve before you get the mana?
April 14, 2014 9:44 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #4
Objects on the stack resolve one at a time, and everyone gets another opportunity to make responses before each one. If you have enough cards in your hand and enough mana to start with then Reiterate and Inner Fire can go infinite.
- You pay 3R to cast Inner Fire. In response, you pay 4RR to cast Reiterate with buyback.
- Reiterate resolves and makes a copy of Inner Fire. Let's say you have 7 cards in your hand. The copy of Inner Fire makes RRRRRRR.
- Instead of letting the original Inner Fire resolve, you cast Reiterate with buyback again. The process repeats.
The difference between this and Mirari is that Mirari can't be used at just any time. It only triggers when an instant or sorcery is cast, and you only get the option to copy the spell once per trigger. The copy isn't cast so Mirari doesn't trigger again when it's created.
April 14, 2014 10:53 p.m.
Epochalyptik, what's an example of a triggered mana ability. Would it be something like Heartbeat of Spring ?
April 15, 2014 5:08 a.m.
@KingSorin: From the comp. rules:
605.1b A triggered ability without a target that triggers from activating a mana ability and could put mana into a player's mana pool when it resolves is a mana ability.
So, yes, Heartbeat of Spring 's ability is a mana ability, because tapping a land for mana is a mana ability.
Zaghrog says... #1
Please link all the cards:
Mirari
Inner Fire
There are no mana abilities involved here, because Inner Fire is a spell and mana abilities are activated abilities. Mirari's ability is a triggered ability, which is also not a mana ability.
You cast Inner Fire: Mirari triggers. You pay for the Mirari trigger, copying the Inner Fire. The copy is not cast, so Mirari will not trigger again for the copy made with it's ability. You get the mana from the Inner Fire copy, then again for the original. No infinite mana here because you only cast one spell so there's only one Mirari trigger.
April 14, 2014 9:26 p.m.