Maze of Ith

Asked by Olthoi 13 years ago

Maze of Ith would that allow me to trigger a creatures tap ability infinite amount of times if the creature was attacking. Heres an example..

I declare my attacker as Alloy Myr then target Alloy Myr with Maze of Ith , the maze's ability untaps the attacking creature.. allowing me to tap Alloy Myr for mana.. but then since the myr is still attacking he would be untaped? Again allowing me to tap him over and over?

mafteechr says... Accepted answer #1

Alloy Myr is declared as an attacker and is tapped.

You activate and tap Maze of Ith and untap Alloy Myr .

You tap Alloy Myr for mana.

Now you have no way to untap Alloy Myr , and he remains tapped.

September 10, 2011 5:34 p.m.

mozerdozer says... #2

Argothian Elder is used for this combo. No other card, to my knowledge, will work without a 3rd or more card.

September 10, 2011 7:03 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

The Oracle ruling for Maze of Ith :

10/4/2004: The creature is still part of the combat. It just has its damage prevented. Don't infer something from the fact that it becomes untapped.

The creature is not removed from combat by the effect of Maze of Ith, so if you have a way to untap the Maze itself (such as using the combo with Argothian Elder and Maze, as mozerdozer mentioned), then you may use its ability again on the same creature.

However, in your example, you have no way to untap Alloy Myr a second time, since the Maze will be tapped.

September 10, 2011 8:45 p.m.

This discussion has been closed