Lethal Vapors Turn Stall

Asked by Remula 12 years ago

Hello, hello. Were I in a situation where I no longer wanted to take turns for whatever reason (let's just go with beginning of upkeep effects that would kill me while I have the proper permanents and cards in hand that permit me to stall out with no problem), can I play Lethal Vapors and place a few billion instances of the ability on the stack in order to take no more turns?

I personally don't think it'll stack the same way extra turns do because of the wording "next turn" only, but I'm really just not sure! Either way, those fumes must smell just awful. Thanks!

Remula says... #1

This is, of course, assuming that my opponent will let me do this and not just counteract it with a few billion instances of his own on the stack of this ability.

May 16, 2013 8:52 a.m.

Kre says... #2

I'm not sure if I understand what you mean. When you activate the lethal vapors ability, it destroys it. So you can't just keep activating it. Does that answer your question?

May 16, 2013 8:56 a.m.

Remula says... #3

While the ability is still on the stack, you can activate it again.

May 16, 2013 8:59 a.m.

RussischerZar says... Accepted answer #4

I didn't find anything definite but assuming that the similar rules apply as from the rule 712.1 (see below), I would say it is indeed possible. Although your opponent could just as easily activate it as many times as you do in response, which might or might not be a good thing for him (e.g. you could trick him into skipping one turn more than you by casting something like Stifle on one of your own abilities on the stack, or with a Sundial of the Infinite exile all of your own triggers to only make him skip turns if he's stupid enough, or you manage to give it flash somehow).

712.1. Two cards (Mindslaver and Sorin Markov) allow a player to control another player during that player's next turn. This effect applies to the next turn that the affected player actually takes. [...]

May 16, 2013 9:07 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

You seem to be answering your own question. If you're looking for a rule to reference when it comes to multiple "skip" effects, it's this one right here:

614.10a Anything scheduled for a skipped step, phase, or turn won't happen. Anything scheduled for the "next" occurrence of something waits for the first occurrence that isn't skipped. If two effects each cause a player to skip his or her next occurrence, that player must skip the next two; one effect will be satisfied in skipping the first occurrence, while the other will remain until another occurrence can be skipped.

Of course, like RussischerZar pointed out, your opponent can just activate it as many times in response to cancel out what you're doing.

May 16, 2013 9:57 a.m.

Remula says... #6

Well, I wasn't quite answering it myself; I really wasn't sure if the different wording than how extra turns are handled mattered,

Overall, I think some zany combos can be made with this, though, and I thank you two for your responses. :3

May 16, 2013 10:09 a.m.

This discussion has been closed