Interaction between Cabaretti Confluence and Crafty Cutpurse

Asked by CamraMaan 2 years ago

This was hard for me to research... so my opponent casts Cabaretti Confluence, electing to make three token copies of one of their creatures, to which I respond by flashing in Crafty Cutpurse to steal them. Do I have to sacrifice them at the beginning of the end step, or is that tied to the caster of the spell? Thanks in advance!

Delphen7 says... Accepted answer #1

You will not have to sacrifice them at the end step. The controller of Cabaretti Confluence sets up the delayed trigger, and when that resolves at the end step, they can't sacrifice a permanent they don't own.

Ruling on Crafty Cutpurse: "If the effect that creates the token also creates a delayed triggered ability, Crafty Cutpurse doesn’t change who controls that ability. For example, if your opponent activates the ability of Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker, that opponent controls the delayed triggered ability. When the ability triggers, that player can’t sacrifice the token, so it remains on the battlefield. (2018-01-19)"

October 10, 2022 11:08 p.m.

CamraMaan says... #2

I always get a little depressed when I realize the answer was "hiding" in the rulings on the card, and I neglected to check. I usually check, but I forgot again. Thanks for the help nonetheless! Always Appreciated! :)

October 11, 2022 4:42 a.m.

Please login to comment