If I Naturalize Rest in Peace, will Naturalize be exiled?

Asked by acedev 6 years ago

Just a rules question I know I will encounter today.

If I destroy a Rest in Peace with an effect like Naturalize, will Naturalize be exiled?

Rest in Peace || Naturalize

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

From the March 16, 2018 Gatherer ruling on Rest in Peace:

If Rest in Peace is destroyed by a spell, Rest in Peace will be exiled and then the spell will be put into its owner’s graveyard.

Rest in Peace will be exiled; Naturalize will go to your graveyard.

Also, Rule 608.2k states:

As the final part of an instant or sorcery spell’s resolution, the spell is put into its owner’s graveyard. As the final part of an ability’s resolution, the ability is removed from the stack and ceases to exist.

Note, the "put into its owner's graveyard" occurs after the rest of the spell has already been completed.

June 26, 2018 9:06 a.m. Edited.

Please login to comment