If I control an Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre and I cast another Ulamog, would I be able to destroy a permanent?

Asked by 203995014 12 years ago

So here's the situation. I was playing a game, and I had an eldrazi deck. My opponent had 2 Tajuru Preserver and I destroyed one, but I still had to destroy the other.

I was thinking about casting Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre to destroy it (I have no other removal spell) and then I remembered that I already had Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre on the battlefield.

Then I remembered that you got to destroy a permanent when you CASTED Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre , and it didn't actually have to enter the battlefield.

I then got confused about the legend rule and then I came to the decision to ask tappedout.

If I control an Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre and I cast another Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre , would I be able to destroy a permanent?

king-saproling says... Accepted answer #1

Yes you can. Like you thought, casting the spell is enough to destroy something. Also, even if it said "When Ulamog enters the battlefield, destroy target permanent" you would still be able to destroy something despite losing both Ulamogs to the Legend rule.

May 9, 2013 6:11 p.m.

nabrown2 says... #2

short answer: yes.

When you cast Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre a triggered ability goes on the stack that reads "destroy target permanemt". You will resolve the triggered ability and then Ulamog will resolve and enter the battlefield. After Ulmog has resolved, State Based Actions are checked. This is where the Legend rule will apply, and both Ulamog's will die simultaneously. Since you mentioned it, had Ulamog's ability read "when Ulamog enters the battlefield, destroy target permant" it would still trigger and go on the stack. State based actions would be checked, (ulamogs die) and then you would resolve the trigger even though Ulamog is now dead.

May 9, 2013 6:16 p.m.

sanguinecretus says... #3

Doesn't the legend rule only destroy one of the ula's and how can ula's indestructible not save it from desruction?

June 21, 2016 5:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed