if a creature has protection from a color and attacks, can a creature of that color block it still?
Asked by chrizzilla 12 years ago
My opponent played Skylasher tonight, and attacked me. I wanted to block with my unevolved Cloudfin Raptor , but she told me that because it had protection from blue, I couldn't block. Is this correct, or did I get gipped out of a win?
MartialArt says... #2
It is correct. A creature with protection from blue can't be blocked by blue creatures.
A creature with protection from creatures is litteraly unblockable because of this.
I abuse this fact in my Don't touch me! commander with Teysa, Envoy of Ghosts .
June 15, 2013 4:34 a.m.
BiggRedd54 says... #3
Creatures with protection from a certain color (in this case blue) can not be blocked by or dealt damage by creatures of that color. Also they cannot be targeted by spells of that color.
June 15, 2013 4:35 a.m.
vampirelazarus says... #4
Your opponent was correct for the reasons listed above.
I came in to say that I hate the ruling that disallows blocking. I think the creature with protection should just not take damage, but no one ever asks me.
June 15, 2013 4:37 a.m.
@vampirelazarus - Well, let's look at this from a design point of view. Protection from a color means that you are protected from all things associated with that color. Let's take Pro blue on our little spider friend, Skylasher . Imagine, if you will, that he has a spherical bubble around him that prevents anything with blue mana at its core from touching him. This sphere extends about a foot out from his body in all directions, and is totally friction-less.
Could you stand in front of him (if you were blue) and stop his attack? You would hit the bubble and try desperately to cling to him, but you can't. This creature can simply ignore your blue existence.
In real terms, it makes protection a much more valuable ability (which is why it isn't printed that often, and why all of the Mirrodin Swords were SO good). Now, instead of just chump blocking the pro creature all the time, you're just taking the damage. It makes it much more satisfying for the player with the pro creature.
Hope this enlightened you! =D
-BuLLZ3Y3
June 15, 2013 5:02 a.m.
vampirelazarus says... #6
I never considered it as a bubble, I just thought it was silly that a dude with pro blue would be able to just run past me, and I can't you know.... Be a meat shield.
TidBligger says... Accepted answer #1
Yes your opponent is correct. Review 502.7f.
502.7 - Protection502.7a - Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." This quality is usually a color (as in "protection from black") but can be any characteristic value. If the quality is a type, subtype, or supertype, the protection applies to sources that are permanents with that type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not in play that are of that type, subtype, or supertype.
502.7b - A permanent with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.
502.7c - A permanent with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")
502.7d - A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality. Such Equipment become unattached from that permanent, but remain in play. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")
502.7e - Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent that has protection is prevented.
502.7f - If a creature with protection attacks, it can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality(This includes multi-colored creatures who have the stated quality in it's mana cost).
502.7g - Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent are redundant.
June 15, 2013 4:34 a.m.