How does Repercussion work?

Asked by Sudain 14 years ago

Is it like [[Stuffy Doll] where I cast Lightning Bolt at a 1/1 & the controller take 2 damage or would they just take 1?

Sudain says... #1

Stuffy Doll - sorry the link didn't work.

March 2, 2011 8:35 p.m.

doinitwrong says... #2

If you Lightning Bolt a 1/1 with a Repercussion on the field, the 1/1's controller would take 3 damage.

March 2, 2011 8:46 p.m.

Sudain says... #3

Cool! Is there a rule I can cite next time my group says I'm full of crack?

March 2, 2011 8:55 p.m.

Siegfried says... #4

Your best bet would be this one:

119.5. Damage dealt to a creature or planeswalker doesn't destroy it. Likewise, the source of that damage doesn't destroy it. Rather, state-based actions may destroy a creature or planeswalker, or otherwise put it into its owner's graveyard, due to the results of the damage dealt to that permanent. See rule 704.

Example: A player casts Lightning Bolt, an instant that says "Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to target creature or player," targeting a 2/2 creature. After Lightning Bolt deals 3 damage to that creature, the creature is destroyed as a state-based action. Neither Lightning Bolt nor the damage dealt by Lightning Bolt destroyed that creature.

March 2, 2011 9:40 p.m.

squire1 says... Accepted answer #5

yeah it is more of an, on the card thing that a ruling. Lightning Bolt say deal 3 damage. It does not care about the size of the target. If cast it deals 3 damage to a 1/1 or 12/12 just the same.

reprecussion then says, "how much damage was dealt to that creature? Oh 3 great! Then 3 to that player too."

March 2, 2011 10:38 p.m.

MagnorCriol says... #6

This also means that if you attack with a 9/9 indestructible lifelinker and the chump block with their 1/1 Elf token, you're still gaining 9 life.

March 3, 2011 12:03 a.m.

This discussion has been closed