How does Dream Devourer / Foretell interact with Suspend cards?

Asked by Urge 6 months ago

If I foretell a card with Suspend ( Living End , for example) using Dream Devourer 's ability, can I cast or suspend that card from exile, or is it more or less just trapped in foretell zone?

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Living End will be stuck face-down in exile. It can't be suspended because the Suspend ability only works from the hand, and it can't be cast with foretell because Dream Devourer 's ability gave it a nonexistent/empty foretell cost that can't be paid. If we use an example with a mana cost, like Search for Tomorrow , it can be cast but not suspended.

May 31, 2021 6:22 p.m. Edited.

Yesterday says... #2

I believe you can't activate Dream Devourer 's ability in the first place. Each card in your hand gains a Foretell cost equal to its mana cost minus , notably not its Mana Value (Converted Mana Cost) minus . Living End does not have a mana cost.

May 31, 2021 9:01 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #3

Yesterday: You can put Living End into exile face-down with the "During your turn, you may pay ..." part of the Foretell ability given by Dream Devourer, you just won't be able to cast it later.

June 1, 2021 9:58 a.m.

Yesterday says... #4

Right, yeah. Because the initial foretell cost is always 2, and the cost to cast it from foretell is the part that's based on the card's mana cost. MB.

June 2, 2021 5:09 a.m.

Please login to comment