Fetchlands

Asked by Idontgiveah 10 years ago

If my opponent taps a fetchland to sac to get a land can I in response bolt him while they have no mana available, also where in the rules would it say exactly

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

Yes, sacrificing a fetchland is an activated ability. Like every ability or spell, both players must pass priority in order for it to resolve. So with the ability on the stack you can cast Lightning Bolt before it resolves. You can find the full rules for Activated Abilities in section 602 of the Comp Rules.

September 3, 2015 1:14 a.m.

BlueScope says... #2

That's almost correct - not every ability needs players to pass priority, which is interesting in this case - mana abilities don't. So, and opponent could tap a Mountain and you couldn't bolt them in response, because the ability doesn't use the stack. However, Fetchland's abilites (for example Arid Mesa) aren't mana abilities, so they do use the stack and can be responded to, for example by casting a Lightning Bolt, as stated above following the rules of activated abilities.

September 3, 2015 6:28 a.m.

This discussion has been closed