exclusion ritual on tokens

Asked by Maximus135 13 years ago

not really sure about this o.o

fireteam says... #1

I'm sorry, this question is so ridiculously vague I can't even tell what the question is... could you be more specific?

July 8, 2012 3:51 a.m.

fireteam says... Accepted answer #2

Oh, I'm sorry it's a card. This ruling is directly from Gatherer:

"If the exiled card somehow leaves exile, the last ability will no longer have any effect."

Tokens cannot exist outside the battlefield (for the most part) and therefore the Imprint ability on Exclusion Ritual will have literally no effect.

July 8, 2012 3:54 a.m.

Maximus135 says... #3

i mean does the second ability of exclusion ritual work on token?

July 8, 2012 3:54 a.m.

fireteam says... #4

You can link a card, deck, or user by using double brackets.

i.e.

Primeval Titan

[ [ Primeval Titan ] ]

Primeval Titan


Maximus135

[ [ Maximus135 ] ]

Maximus135


http://tappedout.net/mtg-decks/rug-tamiyo-control/

rug-tamiyo-control

[ [ rug-tamiyo-control ] ]

RUG Tamiyo Control

July 8, 2012 3:59 a.m.

Maximus135 says... #5

[ [exclusion ritual] ] vs [ [token] ]not sure if second ability will affect token.and im also not sure if putting can be considered as casting

July 8, 2012 4:02 a.m.

Maximus135 says... #6

so hard to be a new member >_> lemme try again Gideon Jura

July 8, 2012 4:02 a.m.

Sagi007 says... #7

no as what fireteam says imprint works only if the creature is in exile. tokens dont excist in exile just like they dont excist in the grave.

on 2nd part tokens aint cast as far i know but produced by spells. even if they would excist in exile it wouldnt work,

July 8, 2012 4:03 a.m.

Maximus135 says... #8

what i mean is does the second ability of Exclusion Ritual work on tokens?

July 8, 2012 4:04 a.m.

Maximus135 says... #9

ooh ok tnx

July 8, 2012 4:04 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #10

Even if the imprint did somehow work, Exclusion Ritual 's second ability specifically stops players from casting spells with that name. There are very few effects (I can only think of 5 in the entire game) that create a token with the same name as an actual card you could cast as a spell.

July 8, 2012 9:02 a.m.

BARTE says... #11

Also Exclusion Ritual says, that players cant cast spells with the same name as the exiled CARD. Tokens are never a card. Also they do not exist in he exile Zone, so the second ability of Exclusion Ritual would do nothing at all.

July 8, 2012 6:44 p.m.

This discussion has been closed