End of turn

Asked by spartan24 12 years ago

At what point during your turn do you have to discard down to seven cards?

Rhadamanthus says... #1

The End phase has 2 steps: end and cleanup. Discarding down to your maximum hand size is something you do at the beginning of the cleanup step, the very last step of the turn.

June 4, 2013 11:50 p.m.

Kirtanian says... Accepted answer #2

514.Cleanup Step

514.1. First, if the active players hand contains more cards than his or her maximum hand size (normally seven), he or she discards enough cards to reduce his or her hand size to that number. This turn-based action doesnt use the stack.

The Cleanup Step happens after the End Step where "until end of turn" abilities/effects will wear off.

Is there a specific situation we can help you with that makes this question particularly relevant?

June 4, 2013 11:51 p.m.

spartan24 says... #3

The situation is that i end my turn then in response to me ending my turn my opponent plays Sphinx's Revelation to which i respond by flashing down Notion Thief , thus allowing me to draw instead of them.

June 5, 2013 12:02 a.m.

Kirtanian says... #4

That would work and then you would be able to cast anything with flash or any instants that you have the mana to pay for before passing priority again and allowing the game to advance to the Clean Up Step where you would have to discard cards.

June 5, 2013 12:05 a.m.

spartan24 says... #5

I see, thank you both for helping me clear that up.

June 5, 2013 12:08 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #6

Also, just in case you're wondering: players usually don't get priority during the cleanup step, but if they do (something happened to make an ability trigger, for example) then the game starts another cleanup step. There's no way to get around having to discard down to max hand size, unless you use an effect that either increases your max hand size or simply removes the limit.

June 5, 2013 10:21 a.m.

lithionlx says... #7

Main Phase II "is ending" You declare ending your turn. EOT Sphinx isnt happening on your end step. Its happening at the end of Main Phase II. (Correct me if Im wrong), This type of Activity gets into the nitty gritty of that transition between Main and End.

Arguably the only time priority is passed on your end step to your opponent would be if say Sire Of Insanity triggered while under your control. As he is an EOT trigger. It has become common place to EOT instant speed. What got lost is when that Sphinx is taking place.

In this case, Your opponent has held the game back into Main Phase II. According to the rules each player agrees to proceed to the next step. Thus you have not entered your End Step.

The only real problems here are sloppy play, kitchen table magic that will not fly in a REL. Kitchen Table is Gentlemen Magic. Where players are for the most part respectful of eachother.

June 5, 2013 10:40 a.m.

lithionlx says... #8

To answer the actual question. Its the very last thing you do.

June 5, 2013 10:42 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #9

Players get priority during the end step. It's the cleanup step where they usually don't (like I explained in my post right before yours).

When you say you're done with the turn that's a recognized shortcut telling your opponent that you're passing and taking no more actions until he has priority during your end step. If your opponent responds with "EOT Sphinx's Revelation ", that means he's choosing to cast the spell at that time instead of also passing and letting the game move to cleanup.

June 5, 2013 11:02 a.m.

Arachnarchist says... #10

To expand on what Rhadamanthus is saying, the reason players will use the end step and not the second main phase, is because after moving to the end step, the active player loses the opportunity to cast sorcery speed spells (i.e. anything not an instant or a card with flash).

If you were to cast a sphinx's rev after your opponent passes priority during the second main phase, after it resolved, your opponent (presumably the active player) could cast a creature, artifact, planeswalker, etc.

June 5, 2013 9:04 p.m.

lithionlx says... #11

The more you know...

June 5, 2013 9:09 p.m.

This discussion has been closed