Eldrazi dislacer and heartstone
Asked by K34 8 years ago
Because Eldrazi Displacer requires colorless mana in the activation cost of its ability, can Heartstone reduce the portion of its cost requiring ? In other words would i be able to activate its ability with only 2 islands?
The gatherer says that heartstone cannot be used to reduce the colored portion of a mana cost, however this is distinctly a colorless cost.
dragonstryke58 says... Accepted answer #2
Further expanding on the above answer, means "generic mana" and can be paid with any color including colorless while must be paid with colorless.
The gatherer ruling you were looking at was input before created by Wastes was put into the game. While the ruling does say it cannot reduce the colored portion of a mana cost, due to the formatting, it is implied that the cost reduction only applies to "generic mana" and not colorless mana.
Basically, Heartstone only reduces the amount of "generic mana" that must be paid to activate activated abilities. Any attribute specific costs cannot be reduced.
DRACULA150704 says... #1
No- the oracle text on Heartstone is "Activated abilities of creatures cost less to activate. This effect can't reduce the amount of mana an ability costs to activate to less than one mana.
it isnt Activated abilities of creatures cost less to activate. This effect can't reduce the amount of mana an ability costs to activate to less than one mana.
November 9, 2017 7:06 p.m.