Dragonlord Atarka ETB + Plummet

Asked by Snoodman21 9 years ago

My opponent plays Dragonlord Atarka. Upon it resolving, it assigns 5 damage to my Seige Rhino. In response to this, I cast Plummet (destroy target creature with flying) targeting Dragonlord Atarka. I am wondering it this will negate the damage since Dragonlord Atarka reads "it deals damage." I understand had it said something like "destroy target creature" that the effect would resolve anyway, but because Dragonlord Atarka is no longer in play, does "it" still damage my Rhino?

TheRedMage says... #1

Please link your cards so we don't have to go look for them...

The answer is: yes, it will still deal the damage. A source doesn't need to still exist at the time of resolution of the ability it generated in order to be able to deal damage (with a few exceptions like fighting and whatnot)

June 24, 2015 4:56 p.m. Edited.

Gidgetimer says... Accepted answer #2

Relevant rule:

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time wont affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, Prodigal Pyromancer deals 1 damage to target creature or player) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source because the effect needs to be divided checks that information when the ability is put onto the stack. Otherwise, it will check that information when it resolves. In both instances, if the source is no longer in the zone its expected to be in at that time, its last known information is used. The source can still perform the action even though it no longer exists.

June 24, 2015 10:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed