Does protection from red counter overloaded Electrickery?

Asked by Anthonydarkside 11 years ago

I was playing a game a few days ago and I had my board loaded with spirit tokens and Cartel Aristocrat Then he overloaded Electrickery for two to clear the board and in response I sacrificed one of the tokens to give Cartel Aristocrat protection from red but my opponent said it would still kill Cartel Aristocrat . Is this true or did I get screwed over?

toastofchaos says... Accepted answer #1

Protection from red would give protection from all damage from red sources. Your friend probably thought it would be like the "blanket effect" from Wrath of God in which even creatures with protection from white would die.

June 13, 2013 9:37 p.m.

ckim777 says... #2

You are right. How this scenario plays out is that all your creatures are all damaged by the red burn spell. However, since you have protection from red your cartel aristocrat will be marked for damage but not killed because it cannot be killed by a damage source from a red spell.

June 13, 2013 9:38 p.m.

hochmaster says... #3

Nope, Cartel Aristocrat would still live, because it can't be dealt damage by anything red because of the creature you sacrificed. Your friend is confusing this rule with the rule that spells that do not target circumvent protection.

June 13, 2013 9:42 p.m.

kanofudo says... #4

But even then, the spell would only have dealt one damage. so your aristocrat was fine anyway

June 13, 2013 9:50 p.m.

This discussion has been closed