Does Mana Maze operate with the stack in mind?

Asked by whallybu49 12 years ago

While searching for EDH ideas, i came across Mana Maze . I was wondering about this because the errata says that it does not affect the first spell played. However, my understanding of the stack is that it takes the timing of the spells being played into account. So if one of my opponents attempted to play a green creature spell, but i used an instant to effectively stop them from casting it, would that work?

GreatSword says... #1

"Playing" and "Casting" a spell mean the same thing. "Casting a spell" means to put the card on the stack, pay costs, choose targets, etc. It doesn't matter if the spell resolves or not, it's still being "Cast"

So, in your above example an opponent casts a green creature. At that point, green spells are locked out by Mana Maze . You then countered the spell with say, Counterspell . After that, Blue spells are locked out untill the end of the turn, or something else is cast.

So, it doesn't really matter what's on the stack at the moment, Mana Maze only "remembers" the last spell that was cast this turn.

September 2, 2012 1:54 a.m.

vazhar says... Accepted answer #2

I think the core of this question can be answered by stating that Casting does not equal resolving. When a spell is cast, it's placed on the stack. From there it resolves and the actions dictated by the spell take place.

So Mana Maze cares about players playing spells, this is the same as casting spells. So in the situation that your opponent casts a green creature spell and you tried to respond with a green instant spell, Mana Maze would prevent you from casting your spell, as it shares a color with the last spell cast (your opponent's creature spell).

September 2, 2012 1:55 a.m.

Emrakool says... #3

Just like if you cast Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre and someone counters him, you still get to destroy target permanent.

September 2, 2012 2:38 a.m.

This discussion has been closed