does killing a player remove their spells from the stack?
Asked by popeyroach 14 years ago
Here's the scenario: it's a 3 player game, I have a baneslayer on the field (because I'm awesome) and it's my turn. player 2 has 3 life left and player 3 has 5 life left and is tapped out. I declare my intention to attack. in response player 2 throws a doom blade at my baneslayer thinking he's just ruined my day. in response I target him with a lightning bolt killing him (ha!). does this then remove the doom blade from the stack and let me kill player 3 or does it resolve and totally screw up my evil plan?
Not true Rayne. When a player leaves the game, EVERYTHING they own leaves the game with them. This includes spells and abilities on the stack. I can't tell you the exact rule, but it's in there somewhere. So the lightning bolt would resolve, then when priority passes and state-based actions are checked after it's resolution, everything of player 2's disappears, especially that nasty doom blade.
March 7, 2011 4:31 p.m.
104.3b If a players life total is 0 or less, he or she loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
104.5. If a player loses the game, he or she leaves the game. If the game is a draw for a player, he or she leaves the game. The multiplayer rules handle what happens when a player leaves the game; see rule 800.4.
800.4a. When a player leaves the game, all objects (see rule 109) owned by that player leave the game, all spells and abilities controlled by that player on the stack cease to exist, and any effects which give that player control of any objects or players end. Then, if there are any objects still controlled by that player, those objects are exiled. This is not a state-based action. It happens as soon as the player leaves the game. If the player who left the game had priority at the time he or she left, priority passes to the next player in turn order whos still in the game.
Your Baneslayer Angel still lives, and you can feel free to cackle maniacally.
March 7, 2011 4:36 p.m.
theemptyquiver says... #4
hAHAHA..
Before I clicked on the link to this Q&A I was seriously hoping the question was going to be:
"If a player casts (X) spell and it hasn't yet resolved and then I stab that player in the neck while the spell is still on the stack and the player dies, does the spell leave the stack?"
Of course...I knew deep down it wouldn't be, but one can imagine.
SardonRayne says... #1
The Baneslayer Angel will still be killed.
The reason for this is that before any player may officially "leave" the game due to a lose condition the stack must be emptied.
The stack would now consist of Lightning Bolt as top priority followed by Doom Blade .
As a result, Player 2's life total would become 0, and then Baneslayer Angel would be destroyed by Doom Blade 's effect.
March 7, 2011 4:11 p.m.