Does Cryptolith Rite allow your creatures haste with Thousand Year Elixir?

Asked by MertaxQ 2 years ago

So I was looking at a combo involving Cryptolith Rite and Thousand-Year Elixir . Since the Rite gives your creatures the ability to tap, would that allow the Elixir to give them haste and be able to tap for mana upon ETB?

Kogarashi says... Accepted answer #1

It's important to note that Thousand-Year Elixir doesn't give your creatures haste at all. It simply allows you to activate their abilities as though they had haste. They still can't attack unless you've continuously controlled them since the start of your most recent turn.

However, because Cryptolith Rite specifically says "creatures you control have" the activated ability, then yes, that applies to Elixir. You could cast a creature with Rite on the board, and Elixir would allow you to tap that creature for mana the turn you cast it.

December 27, 2018 12:28 a.m.

MertaxQ says... #2

Thank you!! I'm aware that I worded it wrong, I knew that they didn't get haste, but sometimes the words come out wrong. Thanks for the reply all the same, that is awesome news.

December 27, 2018 1:12 a.m.

Please login to comment