Auto-suggestions on decks are now available

Does an "elder dragon" count as a "dragon"?

Asked by Phyrexia108 4 years ago

I am making standard dragons when dragons of tarkir comes out and I wanted to know about the elder dragon creature type. If I play Dragonlord Kolaghan , will he trigger Dragon Tempest ? Or will he get +3/+3 from Crucible of Fire ? Basically, does the creature type "elder dragon" count as a "dragon"... Thanks in advance.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Types and subtypes are single words. Dragonlord Kolaghan has the creature types "Elder" and "Dragon." "Elder Dragon" is not a creature type (although the creature type "Elder" has thus far only been used in reference to what are canonically the Elder Dragons, which may be the cause of your confusion).

March 13, 2015 10:51 p.m.

Phyrexia108 says... #2

So Dragon Tempest's damage ability would trigger and Dragonlord Kolaghan would get +3/+3 from Crucible of Fire, right?

March 13, 2015 10:57 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Yes. As I explained, Dragonlord Kolaghan has the creature type "Dragon." Any effects that look for that creature type will see Dragonlord Kolaghan.

March 13, 2015 10:59 p.m.

Phyrexia108 says... #4

Thanks!

March 13, 2015 11:06 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #5

Please remember to select an answer to remove this question from the active queue.

March 13, 2015 11:25 p.m.

This discussion has been closed