Does a spell go to the graveyard when becomes countered, or when it tries to resolve?
Asked by aepokh 12 years ago
First things first. I know how the stack works. First in, last out. Whenever I ask someone this question, they mistake it for a much less subtle question about how the stack works. So please don't respond by explaining to me how the stack works, I've heard it ten times now :)
I cast Lightning Bolt . My opponent responds with Counterspell . I really want to know the timing of what happens, so if I need to do some tricky graveyard hate I can back it up with rules. Here's what I think happens:
1) I cast Lightning Bolt and pass priority.
2) My opponent casts Counterspell . We both pass priority.
3) Counterspell resolves. Lightning Bolt becomes countered, and Counterspell enters its owners graveyard. We both pass priority.
4) Lightning Bolt tries to resolve and just enters my graveyard without doing anything.
Between 3 and 4, can I, for example, crack a Relic of Progenitus , exiling everything and leaving only the Lightning Bolt in my graveyard after the dust settles?
Darkness1835 says... #2
Yes. Because of the way priority works, you have a chance to respond to his Counterspell hitting the graveyard. Lightning Bolt wouldn't enter the graveyard until the stack ends, and you have priority in between those final steps.
Active player gets priority at the beginning of steps and phases (after "beginning of" triggered abilities are put on the stack.)Active player gets priority after a spell/ability on the stack resolves.A player gets priority after they put a spell/ability on the stack.If a player passes priority, the next player in turn order receives priority.
May 16, 2013 11:04 p.m.
I know you don't want to hear about the stack, but this is relevant:
601.2a. The player announces that he or she is casting the spell. That card (or that copy of a card) moves from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it's countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.
What I'm reading here is that if a spell resolves that counters a spell, targeting a spell sitting on the stack awaiting resolution, we don't ever get to the part where that spell gets to "try" to resolve. The resolution of the counterspell moves its target from the stack to the graveyard. Your step 4 will then be: 4) Look at empty stack, go "Where did I go wrong in my life" and nothing happens. If, after the resolution of Counterspell , you cracked a Relic of Progenitus , you would exile at the very least, a Counterspell and a Lightning Bolt.
May 16, 2013 11:07 p.m.
Actually, the true relevance is contained below:
701.5a. To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn't resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner's graveyard.
May 16, 2013 11:12 p.m.
The Lightning Bolt is countered and goes into the graveyard upon resolution of Counterspell.
May 16, 2013 11:14 p.m.
Darkness1835 says... #6
Ah, I will admit I was wrong. Countered spells don't resolve, therefore no chance for priority . Stack already ended.
May 16, 2013 11:20 p.m.
hunter9000 says... #7
Yeah, there is no step 4 in this example, Lightning Bolt goes to the graveyard as part of Counterspell resolving. Since it was removed from the stack, it can't resolve. Since no one gets priority during the resolution of a spell or ability, there's no way to leave just the bolt in your library with the relic.
demongod says... #1
Yes
May 16, 2013 10:55 p.m.