Do the tokens created by Mirror Mockery have Summoning Sickness?

Asked by SalarymanParadise 9 years ago

I know that the tokens created by Mirror Mockery on one of your creatures cannot attack because they are created when you declare attackers (and since the token does not exist when attackers are declared, it cannot become an attacker).

Do the tokens also have summoning sickness? So for instance, if I were to Mirror Mockery a Crater Elemental and attack, could I sacrifice the clone (tap + 1 red mana + sacrifice)? Mirror Mockery seems like it has so much potential if you can its abilities, but I can't seem to find anything on the net that clearly states whether this is the case and if so why.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

Every creature is subject to the rules about "summoning sickness", no matter how it got onto the battlefield. If you haven't controlled it since the beginning of your most recent turn (including the current one) then it can't attack or activate any of its abilities with in the cost. Mirror Mockery doesn't say the token copy has haste, so that means it has "summoning sickness".

November 24, 2015 10:56 a.m.

shinobigarth says... #2

yes it has SS.

Mirror Mockery is for handy ETB creatures you want to get extra uses out of like Abbot of Keral Keep or Dragonlord Atarka or Gilt-Leaf Winnower.

November 24, 2015 11:12 a.m.

Tunde says... #3

You can however use their tap abilities if you have a way to give the token haste like Mass Hysteria or Fervor.

November 24, 2015 4:43 p.m.

This discussion has been closed