Do Embalm tokens deal commander damage?

Asked by CheeseBro 8 years ago

Do tokens created from Temmet, Vizier of Naktamun deal commander damage because they have the same name as him?

If so, if I have multiple of these tokens (due to Mirror Gallery for example), do they all deal commander damage?

Thanks!

Neotrup says... Accepted answer #1

Only your commander deals commander damage. Other permanents that are copies of it or otherwise share its name do not. If your commander is a copy of something else (as is often the case with mimeoplasm) it will still deal commander damage, regardless of it's name or legendary status.

April 4, 2017 11:11 p.m.

CheeseBro says... #2

Neotrup: thanks for the clarification.

I was having some interesting deck ideas but alas, they wont work...

April 4, 2017 11:13 p.m.

Panzerforge says... #3

I need to see his token! If the Token is non-legendary, you could keep sending him to the command zone and making tokens...

If the token is legendary, it's going to have the same name as him, and the legend rule will apply (despite them having different types, it's the name that matters.)

April 5, 2017 12:53 a.m.

Neotrup says... #4

The token is legendary. The only things that embalm changes is mana cost (removing it, thus making CMC 0), color (setting it to monowhite), and creature type (adding zombie in addition to other types). Were it not legendary you'd still need to pay the casting cost (including tax), then send it from either the stack or battlefield to the graveyard in order to be able to embalm. As previously mentioned, Mirror Gallery can get around the legend rule anyways.

April 5, 2017 1:05 a.m.

Daedalus19876 says... #5

No, but they really should amend the commander rules to let it qualify as your commander :/

April 5, 2017 3:58 p.m.

Please login to comment