Copying Spells

Asked by magiceli 10 years ago

I have Pyromancer's Goggles and tap it to cast something like Tormenting Voice do I need to discard two cards or just 1? Also if I copy something like Collateral Damage But don't have anything left to sacrifice to it is it just countered?

HolyFalcon says... #1

No. Those are costs, and you don't have to pay costs for copies.

Edit: Rules questions about card interactions belong in the Q&A. This will be moved shortly.

July 16, 2015 3:11 p.m. Edited.

magiceli says... #2

ok thanks

July 16, 2015 3:12 p.m.

brandontraps says... #3

If you have no creature to sac for Collateral Damage it would fizzle.

July 16, 2015 3:13 p.m. Edited.

Rasta_Viking29 says... #4

The reason you don't have to pay additional costs to cast is because Goggles copies the spell and places it directly onto the stack without ever casting it.

July 16, 2015 3:18 p.m. Edited.

zephyrkey says... Accepted answer #5

@brandontraps - From the Comprehensive Rules:

CR 706.10 "[...]A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs[...]"

Sacrificing a creature to cast Collateral Damage is an alternate cost. When goggles puts a copy of the spell on to the stack, it remembers that a creature was sacrificed to cast the original spell, and does not require a second creature to be sacrificed.

July 16, 2015 6:05 p.m.

brandontraps says... #6

Ahh OK I misread the same ruling, thanks for clarifying!

July 16, 2015 7:03 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Note also that "fizzling" refers to a spell or ability being countered by the game rules for no longer having any legal targets. It doesn't apply here.

July 17, 2015 2:08 p.m.

This discussion has been closed