Combat & Regeneration

Asked by WalzY 12 years ago

If a Drakewing Krasis attacks, and is blocked by a Wolfir Avenger which is then regenerated, does the Drakewing Krasis die? i.e. is the combat damage dealt by the Avenger as well as the avenger being regenerated?

demonx666 says... #1

how would Wolfir Avenger block if it does not have flying, and yes it does die but also when a creature is regenerated it becomes tapped after the regenerated get proc i.e. once it take Letha damage

February 27, 2013 6:59 p.m.

Chubbub says... #2

No, because regen says "remove this creature from combat if it would be dealt lethal damage," so it doesn't get the chance to deal damage.

February 27, 2013 7 p.m.

GreatSword says... #3

Yes, the Drakewing Krasis is dead.

Both creatures deal their damage at the same time. Regeneration sets up a replacement effect on a creature. The next time it would die, instead of going to the graveyard, all damage marked on it is removed, and the creature is tapped and removed from combat. A lot of the time that last part isn't really applicable, but sometimes it is (maybe it got Searing Spear'd).

February 27, 2013 7:05 p.m.

Kirtanian says... Accepted answer #4

Regenerate doesn't say "if it would be dealt lethal damage"

Here is what it says:

614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word instead doesnt appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat. Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See rule 701.12.

In short: The Drakewing Krasis dies and the Wolfir Avenger has all damage marked on it removed and is removed from combat and tapped. Note that is is removed after damage has been dealt.

February 27, 2013 7:49 p.m.

Chubbub says... #5

k, sorry, I should make sure before I answer and give someone wrong info.

February 27, 2013 7:53 p.m.

capriom85 says... #6

So Boros Reckoner getting regenerated would still deal it's damage according to its ability...

Also, I have been told you must use regeneration like a "shied" that must be activated prior to combat/damage. Can someone clarify this for me the proper way to use regeneration? I stopped using my Lotleth Troll over this

February 27, 2013 8:32 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #7

Creatures usually die in one of three ways:
1) Sacrifice
2) Destruction during the resolution of a spell or ability
3) Destruction/movement to graveyard during state-based actions (usually because of lethal damage or because of 0 or negative toughness)

Regeneration doesn't stop sacrifices or creatures being sent to the graveyard due to nonpositive toughness. It can stop destruction due to effects and lethal damage.

Because you don't get priority during the resolution of a spell, ability, or SBA, you won't have an opportunity to activate a regeneration ability at the precise moment a permanent would be destroyed. Therefore, you must activate the ability prior to the resolution of the spell or ability or prior to the dealing of combat damage. Usually, this means either activating the regeneration ability in response to the spell or ability or activating the regeneration ability during the declare blockers step.

February 27, 2013 8:39 p.m.

capriom85 says... #8

so let's say that opponent attacks me with Strangleroot Geist, can i pay B and regenerate my Lotleth Troll and block it?

second, if I attack with Lotleth Troll do I activate the regeneration before blockers are decalred or can I regnerate after they choose to block?

basically...do i need to regenerate before i attack and also before i block?

February 27, 2013 8:55 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #9

The only stipulation with which you should be concerned is that a regeneration shield needs to be in place at the time the destruction would happen (because regeneration is a replacement effect). Presumably, your Lotleth Troll wouldn't be destroyed until the combat damage step, when combat damage is assigned and dealt. This means you can regenerate Lotleth Troll at any time up until you pass priority in the declare blockers step. Ideally, you would wait until the declare blockers step to regenerate.

February 27, 2013 9:09 p.m.

capriom85 says... #10

Ok thanks a lot! Trolls are back in the deck! Does it work the same by blocking?

February 28, 2013 7:55 a.m.

Yes. It doesn't matter how or when the permanent would be destroyed; the regeneration shield only needs to be in place prior to the event of destruction.

February 28, 2013 8:07 a.m.

This discussion has been closed