Casting cards before the end step

Asked by pedroedmarcos 5 months ago

Hey there,

So, this question is based on a situation that happened last game night, and I was not sure at the time so I just let it pass by. I was playing my Najeela, the Blade-Blossom and my opponent passed the turn to me, and, in the end step of his turn, I casted Samut, Voice of Dissent and he Rend Flesh her. Can he do that before the end of his turn?

Caerwyn says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. You only move to the next step/phase if all players have passed when the stack is empty (Rule 116.4).

In this case, here is what happens:

  1. Your opponent passes priority to you. You cast Samut. You then pass priority back to them.

  2. They pass priority--notice how they are passing priority while the stack is not empty--Samut resolves.

  3. Since the stack was not empty when all players passed, there is another round of priority. As the active player, they receive priority after resolution of the spell (Rule 116.3b).

  4. They then cast Rend Flesh targeting Samut. This is a legal action as they have priority.

  5. Priority is passed to you; you pass; the spell resolves and Samut is destroyed.

  6. They receive priority again; they pass. You receive priority; you pass. Since all players passed while the stack was empty, the End Step ends and goes to the cleanup step.

May 13, 2019 1:17 p.m.

Please login to comment